Snowpiecer TV Series Trailer

Based on Bong Joon-ho‘s underseen 2014 film of the same name, the long journey to turn Snowpiecer into a series has finally released a trailer. Much like the titular train that houses the last remaining survivors, making the series a reality has been a turbulent ride.

Losing both its showrunner (Josh Friedman) and director for the pilot (Doctor Strange’s Scott Derrickson) in close succession, the series looked to be in serious trouble. However, a new showrunner was found with Graeme Mason (Orphan Black), and James Hawes (Doctor Who) replaced Derrickson as director. The first trailer has arrived, and it does a solid job of getting the crux of the story across. Despite the production problems, the network believes in the show, so much so that it renewed Snowpiecer shortly after filming on the pilot was completed. TBS and TNT General Manager, Brett Weitz, said this at the time they picked the show up for a second season.

“Snowpiercer is the perfect show to kick-off TBS’ entry into dramas with intricate storytelling, stunning visuals and first-class acting. We believe in the longevity of this series and that audiences will be amazed by the fantastical world that brings to life such relevant social, political and environmental issues.”

Jennifer Connelly, Daveed Diggs, Alison Wright, Mickey Sumner, Susan Park, Iddo Goldberg, Katie McGuinness, Lena Hall, Annalise Basso, Sam Otto, Roberto Urbina, Sheila Vand, Jaylin Fletcher, and Rowan Blanchard. Snowpiecer is set to launch on TBS Spring 2020, and there are currently no details on when (or where) it will be broadcast in the UK.

Set more than seven years after the world has become a frozen wasteland, Snowpiercer centres on the remnants of humanity, who inhabit a gigantic, perpetually moving train that circles the globe. Class warfare, social injustice, and the politics of survival play out in this riveting television adaptation, based on the acclaimed movie of the same name.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *